8:00-8:30 Registration

Plenary session

8:30am Emcee Intro – Ms Jean Kittson
8:40am Welcome to Country – Uncle Ivan
8:45am National anthem – Miss Tamara Brown performed in both English and Dharrawal
8:50am Welcome Address – Professor Phil Harris, Chair SWSLHD Board

9:00am Official Opening – Professor Kerry Chant

9:15am Address – Professor Brad Frankum, SWSLHD

Keynote speakers

Holly Ransom, CE Emergent
9:00 – 10:00

Three minute thesis competition

Speakers: Local PhD Students
10:00 – 10:30
10:30-11:00 Coffee Break

Breakout sessions: 11.00 – 12.30

Session 1: Cancer – Chair:  Professor Minoti Apte, Phillip Room – CCC
Session 2: Clinical Health Sciences – Chair:  Professor Tony Penna, Fitzroy Room – CCC
Session 3: Population & Community Health – Chair:  Professor Bin Jalaludin, Lachlan Room – CCC
Session 4: Mental Health – Chair:  Professor Valsamma Eapen, Macquarie Room – CCC
Session 5: Nursing & Midwifery – Chair:  Ms Sonia Marshall, Meehan Room – Rydges
Session 6: Urban Health Development & Commercial Innovation – Chair:  Professor Peter Sainsbury, Therry Room – Rydges

12:30-13:30 Lunch Break

Breakout sessions: 1.15 – 3.00

Session 7: Cancer – Chair:  Professor Marie Bakitas, Phillip Room – CCC
Session 8: Clinical Health Sciences – Chair:  Dr Vincent Ho, Fitzroy Room – CCC
Session 9: Population & Community Health – Chair:  Mr Justin Duggan, Lachlan Room – CCC
Session 10: Models of Care – Chair:  Ms Sue Colley, Macquarie Room – CCC
Session 11: Injury – Chair:  Professor Ian Harris, Meehan Room – Rydges
Session 12: CALD – Chair:  Professor Afaf Girgis, Therry Room – Rydges

TED Talks

3:05pm Dr Becky Freeman:  “Social Media: Public Health Friend or Foe?”
3:25pm Professor Anthony Kelleher:  “Ending HIV”
3:45pm Mr Mark Booth:  “Application of GPS technology in Rugby League – No place to hide”

Rush Hour

Do you want to meet other researchers from across the district?
Register today for a speed networking event like no other.

With special guests:

Lindy Deitz, Campbelltown City Council
Cathy Kaplun, Translational Research and Social Innovation Group of Western Sydney University, Ingham Institute and University of NSW
James Kemp, Translational Health Research Institute at Western Sydney University

16:00 – 17:00


Plenary session

8:30am Emcee Intro – Jean Kittson
8:35am Address – Professor Michael Barton
8:40am Welcome address – Mr John Ingham

Keynote speakers

Professor Andre Dekker, Medical Physicist, MAASTRO Clinic
Professor Marie Bakitas, Director of Nursing, School of Nursing, University of Alabama at Birmingham
9:00 – 10:30

School Program

10:00 – 10:30

10:30-11:00 Coffee Break

Breakout sessions: 11.00 – 12.30

Session 13: Cancer – Chair:  Professor Andre Dekker, Phillip Room – CCC
Session 14: Clinical Health Sciences – Chair:  Professor Les Bokey, Fitzroy Room – CCC
Session 15: Population & Community Health – Chair:  Dr Stephen Conaty, Lachlan Room – CCC
Session 16: Models of Care – Chair:  Dr Mark Hohenberg, Macquarie Room – CCC
Session 17: Clinical Trials – Chair:  Professor Meera Agar and Kelsey Dobell-Brown, Meehan Room – Rydges
Session 18: Innovation – Chair:  Professor Josephine Chow, Therry Room – Rydges

12:30-13:30 Lunch Break

Breakout sessions: 1.15 – 3.00

Session 19: Cancer, Chair:  Professor Michael Barton, Phillip Room – CCC
Session 20: Clinical Health Sciences, Chair:  Ms Alison Derrett, Fitzroy Room – CCC
Session 21: Population & Community Health, Chair:  Mr Rene Pennock, Lachlan Room – CCC
Session 22: Mental Health / Drug & Alcohol, Chair:  Ms Kelly Walker, Macquarie Room – CCC
Session 23: Nursing & Midwifery – Chair:  A/Professor Bronwyn Everett, Meehan Room – Rydges
Session 24: Lightning Talks – Chair: Mr Craig Smith, The Cube – CCCSession 25: Innovation Open Space Technology Workshop – Chair: Mr David Kelly, Therry Room – Rydges

Three minute thesis - winners announced


Debate: Who is running our hospitals? Clinicians or Managers?

Clinicians: Dr Terry Flynn, Ms Rebecca Tyson, Mr Matthew Malone
Administrators: Ms Teresa Benetos, Mr Peter Reisinger, Ms Michelle Callard
Moderator:  Ms Jean Kittson

15:00 – 15:45


4:00pm Ms Amanda Larkin, CE SWSLHD